Page 4 of 4

Re: Toms Quick Tactic Tip of The Week

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:36 pm
by CHAPLAIN T
Its becoming clearer and clearer to me the more I theory-hammer it in my head. For me, the trickiest part about "getting it" is categorizing the units (Charged, Did Not Charge, Eligible Target / Ineligible Target) and then defining a short list of what those categories can do.

For example:

SM Captain, Heroically Intervenes - Ineligible target for assaults unless he was declared against; can fight dudes near him; no consolidation or pile in moves

Re: Toms Quick Tactic Tip of The Week

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:46 pm
by MrScotty
CHAPLAIN T wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:36 pm
Its becoming clearer and clearer to me the more I theory-hammer it in my head. For me, the trickiest part about "getting it" is categorizing the units (Charged, Did Not Charge, Eligible Target / Ineligible Target) and then defining a short list of what those categories can do.

For example:

SM Captain, Heroically Intervenes - Ineligible target for assaults unless he was declared against; can fight dudes near him; no consolidation or pile in moves
Almost. Everyone who gets chosen to fight gets to take Pile in and Consolidate moves. Otherwise, exactly correct. The captain who Heroically Intervenes fights just like a unit that didn't charge.

The two different kinds of unit that can Fight in the Fight Phase are:

Unit that Charged: can get selected to Fight whether or not it's within 1" of enemy models. Can only target units they declared their Charge against with their attacks. Gets selected to Fight before units that didn't charge.

Unit that didn't Charge: Can get selected to fight if it is within 1" of enemy models. Can target any enemy units with no restrictions.

Re: Toms Quick Tactic Tip of The Week

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:01 pm
by Indy
Units that have abilities that let them "always fight first" such as Emperor's Children/Slaanesh (however that works) or certain Warlord Traits such as Chapter Approved's "Saga of the Warrior Born" for the Space Wolves, or Blood Angels' "Speed of the Primarch"...

...does this mean that if those units Heroically Intervened, or got pulled in by being 1" away from an enemy, they would automatically go 2nd? (because 1st automatically goes to a unit that Charged as determined by the player whose turn it is, then 2nd is a unit with a "always fight first" ability, then 3rd would be another unit that charged, and so on down the line).


wording for Saga of the Warrior Born

You can always choose your Warlord to fight first in the Fight phase even if he didn't charge. If the enemy has units that have charged, or that have a similar ability, then alternate choosing units to fight with, starting with the player whose turn is taking place.

...using a SW one since I happened to have Chapter Approved up while responding to this.


Re: Toms Quick Tactic Tip of The Week

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:08 pm
by MrScotty
Indy wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:01 pm
Units that have abilities that let them "always fight first" such as Emperor's Children/Slaanesh (however that works) or certain Warlord Traits such as Chapter Approved's "Saga of the Warrior Born" for the Space Wolves, or Blood Angels' "Speed of the Primarch"...

...does this mean that if those units Heroically Intervened, or got pulled in by being 1" away from an enemy, they would automatically go 2nd? (because 1st automatically goes to a unit that Charged as determined by the player whose turn it is, then 2nd is a unit with a "always fight first" ability, then 3rd would be another unit that charged, and so on down the line).


wording for Saga of the Warrior Born

You can always choose your Warlord to fight first in the Fight phase even if he didn't charge. If the enemy has units that have charged, or that have a similar ability, then alternate choosing units to fight with, starting with the player whose turn is taking place.

...using a SW one since I happened to have Chapter Approved up while responding to this.

Yep, that's correct.

Re: Toms Quick Tactic Tip of The Week

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:05 pm
by Draaen
Part of the way I saw the combat rules was that they were trying to write in protections against "that guy"

That guy declares an assault against your lone guardsman then tries to pile into your flamer squad of doom to kill them in combat and avoid over watch. He can't do that because you weren't initially charged and didn't get the opportunity to overwatch so he can't punch you but you can punch him.

That guy gets multi-charged and loses 2 dudes that second charging unit was within 1 inch of. He tries to remove those two deny your charging models the ability to fight. He can't do that because by virtue of being a charger you can activate and then pile in 3" before you decide who attacks.

Anyone who gets to fight gets their 3" pile in and 3" consolidate move and they all happen when the unit is chosen. So a unit that charged and gets activated after the charged unit was killed gets a free 6" move.

To throw another interesting combat movement trick out there you heroic intervention only requires your character to be within 3" of an enemy model at the end of the assault phase. So you can heroically intervene into anybody who gets too close whether they charged or not.

Re: Toms Quick Tactic Tip of The Week

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:49 am
by Anacrucis
MrScotty wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:38 pm
Anacrucis wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:51 am
I am not smart enough to follow any of this. I think I will stay home and paint again :lol:
I could make one for the 7th edition charge sequence for contrast if you'd like. As I remember, it was
Apologies Scott my snarky remark was not intended to be directed specifically at your (Actually beautiful and helpful) diagrams but just at the fact that tactical discussions at this level just go straight over my head in general, and have since I started in 3rd edition.

I’m just not smart enough to play at this level.