HQ Tech-Priest for IG

"Wait...is that right?!" Why not ask? This is the place to share a rules question (or revelation) you learned at the table.
User avatar
Eisenfresser
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:18 pm
Name: Steven Hirsch
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: IG Tanks

HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby Eisenfresser » Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:33 am

So, is there anything stopping me from just taking the tech-priest from the Ad Mech codex as an HQ choice in my Guard Army?

If so, does that break my Regiment bonuses, because the relevant rule in the IG codex just lists exceptions for, amongst others, "tech-priest enginseer" without the bold or other indicators of keywords.

I don't want to feel like a cheesy player, but I've been building my army as an Ad Mech auxiliary since the previous edition, with plenty of conversion work to support the imagery and fluff. This would let my army play more like the fluff I've had for years. Which is cool.

(This idea brought to you by reading about it on DakkaDakka.)
Game preferences:
+1 to going first roll if you finish deploying first
All terrain is "statuary"
No First Blood - it's basically a bonus VP for going first
Current Beta rules

Army
4,500 points of Imperial Guard
2,800 of tanks alone
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1592
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby MrScotty » Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:48 am

RAW you may use the data sheet from either codex Adeptus Mechanicus or codex Astra Militarum without breaking regimental bonuses.

The only things I'd look out for:

1) read the Admech datasheet carefully (I don't have access to it) and make sure he says he repairs IG units/vehicles

2) he will be an Admech model rather than an AM model for Stratagems, Relics etc. So that may unlock some weirdness depending on how the Admech relics are worded.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
Eisenfresser
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:18 pm
Name: Steven Hirsch
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: IG Tanks

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby Eisenfresser » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:12 pm

MrScotty wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:48 am
RAW you may use the data sheet from either codex Adeptus Mechanicus or codex Astra Militarum without breaking regimental bonuses.

The only things I'd look out for:

1) read the Admech datasheet carefully (I don't have access to it) and make sure he says he repairs IG units/vehicles
Dakkaites talking about exactly this is what got me excited about the idea. I'm gonna take a look at the book tomorrow.
MrScotty wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:48 am
2) he will be an Admech model rather than an AM model for Stratagems, Relics etc. So that may unlock some weirdness depending on how the Admech relics are worded.
So, I can only use Ad Mech Stratagems while the model is still alive?
Game preferences:
+1 to going first roll if you finish deploying first
All terrain is "statuary"
No First Blood - it's basically a bonus VP for going first
Current Beta rules

Army
4,500 points of Imperial Guard
2,800 of tanks alone
User avatar
Memento
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:42 pm
Name: Anthony
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Thousand Sons, Daemons, Ultramarines

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby Memento » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:39 pm

You only get access to Stratagems from a Faction if you have a Detachment comprised entirely of models from that Faction.

So in order to get AdMech Stratagems, you'd need an AdMech Detachment. Adding a single AdMech Tech-Priest to an otherwise Astra Militarum Detachment would not make it an AdMech Detachment (even if it doesn't strip the Detachment of it's Astra Militarum designation).
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1592
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby MrScotty » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:49 pm

I meant more that he would not be able to use any guard strats if that ever mattered. He might get Admech relics, I'd have to look at how the admech rules are worded. of particular interest to your army, there is actually an admech relic that just grants you a CP - more useful to your army set up than the Aquila in games where your opponent doesn't have a bunch of CPs for you to hijack.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
Memento
Posts: 991
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:42 pm
Name: Anthony
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Thousand Sons, Daemons, Ultramarines

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby Memento » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:19 pm

MrScotty wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:49 pm
I meant more that he would not be able to use any guard strats if that ever mattered. He might get Admech relics, I'd have to look at how the admech rules are worded. of particular interest to your army, there is actually an admech relic that just grants you a CP - more useful to your army set up than the Aquila in games where your opponent doesn't have a bunch of CPs for you to hijack.
You get access to the Relic list from whichever book your Warlord's Detachment is from. So if your Warlord is from an Astra Militarum Detachment, you'd get AM Relics.
User avatar
Eisenfresser
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:18 pm
Name: Steven Hirsch
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: IG Tanks

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby Eisenfresser » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:41 pm

Memento wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:39 pm
You only get access to Stratagems from a Faction if you have a Detachment comprised entirely of models from that Faction.

So in order to get AdMech Stratagems, you'd need an AdMech Detachment. Adding a single AdMech Tech-Priest to an otherwise Astra Militarum Detachment would not make it an AdMech Detachment (even if it doesn't strip the Detachment of it's Astra Militarum designation).
Alright, one squad of Skitarii Rangers for a Patrol Detachment it is! I like their Arquebuses anyways.
Game preferences:
+1 to going first roll if you finish deploying first
All terrain is "statuary"
No First Blood - it's basically a bonus VP for going first
Current Beta rules

Army
4,500 points of Imperial Guard
2,800 of tanks alone
User avatar
Sandtiger
Member
Posts: 626
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:38 am
Name: Tomas Q.
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Space Wolves, Salamanders

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby Sandtiger » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:06 pm

2 squads. You need 2 Troop Choices and 1 HQ choice for a Patrol Detachment ;)
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1592
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby MrScotty » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:28 pm

Sandtiger wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:06 pm
2 squads. You need 2 Troop Choices and 1 HQ choice for a Patrol Detachment ;)
How dare you suggest such things, you absolute cad!

Naw its just one troop. You're thinking all the other editions.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
PlaguemasterFlex
Officer
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:45 pm
Name: Dave
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: CSM (Death Guard) + Daemons
Location: Stoneham

Re: HQ Tech-Priest for IG

Postby PlaguemasterFlex » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:29 pm

Sandtiger wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:06 pm
2 squads. You need 2 Troop Choices and 1 HQ choice for a Patrol Detachment ;)
Nope a Patrol is 1-2 HQ and 1-3 Troops. Plus 0-2 of anything else.