Laurels of Command + Tank Commander

"Wait...is that right?!" Why not ask? This is the place to share a rules question (or revelation) you learned at the table.
User avatar
Eisenfresser
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:18 pm
Name: Steven Hirsch
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: IG Tanks

Laurels of Command + Tank Commander

Postby Eisenfresser » Sun Dec 24, 2017 1:49 pm

Both Battlescribe and Dakkaites seem to think that I can give Laurels of Command to my Tank Commander, which I would love to be true.

But I'm convinced.
I can give my TC the Master of Command warlord trait - which gives it Voice of Command. Except it does't, because the text says that if the model already had Tank Orders it gets an additional order instead.

I bring this up because is Officer with Voice of Command only. And TCs have their own version - Tank Orders - instead of VoC.

Yes/no?
Game preferences:
+1 to going first roll if you finish deploying first
All terrain is "statuary"
No First Blood - it's basically a bonus VP for going first
Current Beta rules

Army
4,500 points of Imperial Guard
2,800 of tanks alone
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1592
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: Laurels of Command + Tank Commander

Postby MrScotty » Sun Dec 24, 2017 3:52 pm

I think it would be no, for the reason you describe here: tank orders are not Voice of Command, and the text of the warlord trait says "instead".

A bullgryn bodyguard you gave voice of command though? 100% A-OK! E can Ave da right fancy shoulder fingies!!
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
Eisenfresser
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:18 pm
Name: Steven Hirsch
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: IG Tanks

Re: Laurels of Command + Tank Commander

Postby Eisenfresser » Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:36 pm

Can my Death Korps guys take the Laurels of Command?

Seems then that in my all tank list the only good relic is the bonus command points one, which is boring.
Game preferences:
+1 to going first roll if you finish deploying first
All terrain is "statuary"
No First Blood - it's basically a bonus VP for going first
Current Beta rules

Army
4,500 points of Imperial Guard
2,800 of tanks alone