Page 1 of 1

Sternguard Strategem

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:29 am
by The Last Acton Hero
Say I have some sternguard next to an LT and pop their Strategem. "You can add 1 to all wound rolls made by that unit's special issue boltguns."
1. Does this mean that all rolls of 1s to wound become 2s and can't be rerolled by the LT?
2. If so, does "can add 1 to all wound rolls" refer more to the "Can" or the "All". Can you choose on a dice by dice basis ("well I can add 1 to this roll of 3 to make it a wound, but I can choose not to add 1 to this roll of 1 so I can reroll it")?
Figuring out all these buffs is hard.

Re: Sternguard Strategem

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:14 am
by PlaguemasterFlex
GW addressed this in their FAQ a while ago. It comes down to the order of operations.
1. Roll to hit/wound
2. Reroll if applicable
3. Apply hit/wound modifiers

So if you have +1 to hit and reroll 1s to hit (same would apply to wound rolls if you have modifiers and rerolls to those like with thr LT and stratagem), you first apply any reroll mechanics like reroll 1s and then add your modifiers after. A natural roll of 1 to hit or wound is still a failure regardless of modifiers.

There are some other interesting interactions that come out of this too.


Plasma:
If you have +1 to hit with plasma your guns can't overheat and kill you, but the natural 1 to hit still fails (but at least you're not dead).

Negative modifiers and rerolls:
If you are getting rerolls to 1s then negative hit/wound modifiers don't mean anything to rerolls, you still reroll the 1s to hit then apply the negative modifier. However, if you get to reroll any failed roll to hit/wound then (like a chapter master for example) then you still first apply the reroll, then apply the modifiers still . This means you don't reroll anything that initially "hits" and then doesn't because of the modifier.

For example:
BS 3+ devastator marine moves with heavy bolter and shoots something while standing next to a chapter master. Moving with the heavy weapon gives him -1 to hit.

Step 1. Roll to hit - He rolls 3 dice to hit (a 2, 3, and 4).

Step 2. Reroll dice - We apply the reroll failed hits, so only the 2 is rerolled. The 3 will miss after the -1 to hit, but because the reroll is applied before the modifier, we don't get to reroll it. Now say you reroll the 2 and it is a 5. Your final roll is then 3, 4, 5

Step 3. Apply modifiers - now you apply the -1 to hit which makes it 2, 3 ,4. So you score 2 hits after rerolls and modifiers in this case.

My examples are mostly to hit because hit reroll/modifiers seem to be more common in 8th, but the exact same mechanics apply to wounding as well.

Re: Sternguard Strategem

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:54 am
by The Last Acton Hero
Cool! And with the last part, I assume if we're talking about a bonus instead of penalty I can always chose to forego a reroll (for example a chapter master next to a Dev being buffed by Signum who rolls a 2 to hit?)

Re: Sternguard Strategem

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:04 am
by Memento
ActonAntiHero wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:54 am
Cool! And with the last part, I assume if we're talking about a bonus instead of penalty I can always chose to forego a reroll (for example a chapter master next to a Dev being buffed by Signum who rolls a 2 to hit?)
It depends on the wording of the rule. Generally speaking, the reroll auras are optional. "You can reroll x result".

There are a few that are mandatory, though I can't recall a specific example atm.