Different Eldar factions in the same army

"Wait...is that right?!" Why not ask? This is the place to share a rules question (or revelation) you learned at the table.
User avatar
glabrous3
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 12:23 pm
Name: Matthew B.
Experience Level: Novice
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Eldar

Different Eldar factions in the same army

Postby glabrous3 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:57 am

If you have multiple detachments can they each be from different factions? For instance an Iyanden detachment with wraiths and get the wraith bonuses and another detachment from a different faction and this detachment get this faction’s abilities?
Matt
User avatar
The Last Acton Hero
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:11 am
Name: Thomas E
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: Salamander Space Marines

Re: Different Eldar factions in the same army

Postby The Last Acton Hero » Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:06 pm

Yuuup

Just watch out, sometimes special abilities and buff-auras only benefit the same craftworld/chapter/regiment.
Last edited by The Last Acton Hero on Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: Different Eldar factions in the same army

Postby MrScotty » Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:07 pm

glabrous3 wrote:
Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:57 am
If you have multiple detachments can they each be from different factions? For instance an Iyanden detachment with wraiths and get the wraith bonuses and another detachment from a different faction and this detachment get this faction’s abilities?
Matt
Yup.

Just keep in mind, if you're going with the same faction overall, (ie two different craftworlds) two things to keep in mind.

1) Many abilities ingame are limited to transporting the same <subfaction> while others are the same Faction. i.e. a psychic power might say "Pick an Asuryani Infantry unit" - this could be casted from an Ulthwe Psyker to a Iyanden unit. However an aura ability might say <craftworld> infantry within 6" - an Ulthwe autarch here would not buff iyanden infantry near him.

2) your opponents will most likely want a clear visual indicator as to what is supposed to be what. For competitive players it's become the norm to paint a colored stripe around the base so they're clearly identifiable but you can still paint a nice, coherent scheme. Obviously if they're different factions this doesn't matter, as the Harlequins will be one thing while the Eldar will be another.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!