Look out Sir vs Look out Shas 'ui

"Wait...is that right?!" Why not ask? This is the place to share a rules question (or revelation) you learned at the table.
User avatar
The cosmic serpent
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:37 am
Name: Keith
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: Eldar (CWE, DE, H), GK, Crons, Tau, AL
Location: Chelmsford MA

Re: Look out Sir vs Look out Shas 'ui

Postby The cosmic serpent » Tue May 08, 2018 9:40 am

Memento wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 10:09 pm
Indy wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 5:39 pm
Memento wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 2:29 pm


To clarify. Space Marines' Bodyguard rule procs for each wound lost. So, in the case above:

Lascannon hits > wounds > save (failed) > roll damage (4)
Bodyguard roll, if successful, Veteran takes 1 Mortal Wound (3 damage remaining)
LT takes the remaining 3 damage.

Screenshot (80).png
What is the operative phrasing that makes it thus?

I think what makes it confusing is that we are talking about "wounds," "hits" and damage. The phrasing says when the character "loses a wound" ( it does not say "fails a save"), then the Vet can "intercept that hit" (okay, so now we are going back to the To Hit roll?) and the "character does not lose a wound but this unit suffers a mortal wound."

Emphasis added to the "a" 's in all of that.

Where it gets unclear is what is NOT said: it does NOT say "fails a save," thus NOT specifying that like Tau drones, a Vet can tank all the damage from a single lascannon shot...yet it also does NOT say anything about the Damage factor for "a wound" that is being lost.

TL;DR: Do Company Vets act kinda sorta like Tau drones or kinda sorta like Feel No Pain?
The operative wording here is loses a Wound. A model only loses Wounds after it fails its save and damage is determined.

Drones specifically intercept hits.

It could certainly be worded better. But there's very little ambiguity in my reading.
Your emphasis is incorrect drones intercept wounds not hits.

Saviour Protocols: If a <SEPT> INFANTRY or <SEPT> BATTLESUIT unit within 3" of a friendly <SEPT> DRONES unit is wounded by an enemy attack, roll a D6. On a 2+ you can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal wound instead of the normal damage.

It seems the difference comes down to this short phrase "loses a wound" versus "is wounded" is wounded comes before saves as you've taken a hit but not suffered damage yet, and loses a wound is after saves as you have accepted the damage is felt.
Last edited by The cosmic serpent on Tue May 08, 2018 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
The Last Acton Hero
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:11 am
Name: Thomas E
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: Salamander Space Marines

Re: Look out Sir vs Look out Shas 'ui

Postby The Last Acton Hero » Tue May 08, 2018 9:42 am

I think the confusion is because Wounds that are not saved cause Damage, which makes you Lose A Wound.
User avatar
PlaguemasterFlex
Officer
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:45 pm
Name: Dave
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: CSM (Death Guard) + Daemons
Location: Stoneham

Re: Look out Sir vs Look out Shas 'ui

Postby PlaguemasterFlex » Tue May 08, 2018 2:00 pm

Acton-Man wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 9:42 am
I think the confusion is because Wounds that are not saved cause Damage, which makes you Lose A Wound.
This.

Another example is Death Shroud Terminators who do intercept hits. In that case you would make your "to wound" rolls against them instead of the original target and resolve damage as normal on them.