Confused about repulsor armament

"Wait...is that right?!" Why not ask? This is the place to share a rules question (or revelation) you learned at the table.
User avatar
Anacrucis
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:09 am
Name: Dave R
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual
Armies: BA, RG, IoM, Nids, Eldar
Location: Waltham

Confused about repulsor armament

Postby Anacrucis » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:01 pm

So all the box art shows the Repulsor equipped with a coaxial heavy stubber in the turret, and a pintile gatling cannon at the commander’s hatch.

But the rules seem to indicate that it’s one or the other?

And the kit seems to have a little sensor nub thing you can glue on in place of the coax hmg.

So is the box art bullshit or am I missing something?

Not that I object, aesthetically, to dropping a gun from this monster.
User avatar
Connman234
Officer
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:41 pm
Name: Spencer Connell
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Marines, Ad-Mech, Zerkers, Necrons, Nids
Location: Wakefield, MA

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby Connman234 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:43 pm

The Repulsar can take a max of 3 heavy Stubbers. The one with the manned gunner. The one in the back. And the OPTIONAL stubberthat goes underneath the gunner, on the opposite side of turret gun. The Gunner and rear stubbers are the ones that can be replaced with guns, but you can take that third one.
"Let Justice be Done. Though the Heavens Fall"

Image
User avatar
Darth Hoodie
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 1:45 pm
Name: Tom X
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual
Armies: Black Templars + Inquisition
Location: North Shore

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby Darth Hoodie » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:54 pm

I just find it funny that they bothered to bolt Heavy Stubers onto a Marine vehicle. Does not make too much sense to me. It's the only thing in the Marine Dex that can take them?
"Suffer not the unclean to live."
User avatar
Anacrucis
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:09 am
Name: Dave R
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual
Armies: BA, RG, IoM, Nids, Eldar
Location: Waltham

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby Anacrucis » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:15 am

Darth Hoodie wrote:
Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:54 pm
I just find it funny that they bothered to bolt Heavy Stubers onto a Marine vehicle. Does not make too much sense to me. It's the only thing in the Marine Dex that can take them?
It’s not a heavy stubber tho. It’s an IRONHAIL heavy stubber. Which is a totally different and copyrightable thing.

So 3 total including the Icarus one on the back?
User avatar
Connman234
Officer
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:41 pm
Name: Spencer Connell
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Marines, Ad-Mech, Zerkers, Necrons, Nids
Location: Wakefield, MA

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby Connman234 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:41 am

Yes. Max 3 Stubbers
"Let Justice be Done. Though the Heavens Fall"

Image
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby MrScotty » Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:26 pm

Anacrucis wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:15 am
Darth Hoodie wrote:
Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:54 pm
I just find it funny that they bothered to bolt Heavy Stubers onto a Marine vehicle. Does not make too much sense to me. It's the only thing in the Marine Dex that can take them?
IRONHAIL heavy stubber.
So it was designed by Indrick "Stehl Rehn" Boreale?
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
Indy
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:57 pm
Name: JP Anderson
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Blood Angels
Location: Melrose

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby Indy » Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:15 pm

I wonder how the Repulsor can transport it’s own ammo, let alone any Troops with the amount of guns it’s got sticking out from every angle.
“Fairy tales do not give the child his first idea of bogey. What fairy tales give the child is his first clear idea of the possible defeat of bogey. The baby has known the dragon intimately ever since he had an imagination. What the fairy tale provides for him is a St. George to kill the dragon.”

-G.K. Chesteron
User avatar
Darth Hoodie
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 1:45 pm
Name: Tom X
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual
Armies: Black Templars + Inquisition
Location: North Shore

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby Darth Hoodie » Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:23 pm

The fact that the Repulsor cant transport non Primaris is enough to get my ire up. I would consider picking one up if Helbrecht or Grimaldus could hitch a ride inside it. I dont see that working out well for the rando Helblaster Squad who tries to tell THE HERO OF HELLSREACH that he cant catch a ride with them....
"Suffer not the unclean to live."
User avatar
PlaguemasterFlex
Officer
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:45 pm
Name: Dave
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: CSM (Death Guard) + Daemons
Location: Stoneham

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby PlaguemasterFlex » Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:22 pm

Darth Hoodie wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:23 pm
The fact that the Repulsor cant transport non Primaris is enough to get my ire up. I would consider picking one up if Helbrecht or Grimaldus could hitch a ride inside it. I dont see that working out well for the rando Helblaster Squad who tries to tell THE HERO OF HELLSREACH that he cant catch a ride with them....
It's got a "you must be this tall to ride" sign outside the door. He could get a neck injury if he doesn't fit in the belts correctly.
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: Confused about repulsor armament

Postby MrScotty » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:03 am

PlaguemasterFlex wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:22 pm
Darth Hoodie wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:23 pm
The fact that the Repulsor cant transport non Primaris is enough to get my ire up. I would consider picking one up if Helbrecht or Grimaldus could hitch a ride inside it. I dont see that working out well for the rando Helblaster Squad who tries to tell THE HERO OF HELLSREACH that he cant catch a ride with them....
It's got a "you must be this tall to ride" sign outside the door. He could get a neck injury if he doesn't fit in the belts correctly.
I heard a rumor that in the March FAQ they were going to allow Secundus Marines (new Keyword replacing Adeptus Astartes) to board repulsors, but any Secundus units will take D3 mortal wounds per turn from the Indomitus-Pattern Noogies they receive from the Primaris crew.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!