Psychic powers question that I can't find a definitive answer to

"Wait...is that right?!" Why not ask? This is the place to share a rules question (or revelation) you learned at the table.
User avatar
Sandtiger
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:38 am
Name: Tomas Q.
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Space Wolves, Salamanders

Psychic powers question that I can't find a definitive answer to

Postby Sandtiger » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:11 pm

Salamanders Librarian approaches the area where a Tactical Squad is fighting it out with some Nurglings. Is the Librarian allowed to cast Smite on the Nurglings even though they are locked in combat with the Marines? (Similarly, can he cast other mortal wounds-generating spells upon that squad as well?)

I looked in several different FAQs and the 40k rulebook and found no definitive yes or no answer to this.

Thanks.

--TMQ
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: Psychic powers question that I can't find a definitive answer to

Postby MrScotty » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:56 pm

Yes. The only reason you can't find the rule is because there is only a rule against targeting enemy units in the shooting phase.

In any other phase, psychic, Charge, even movement if you have special abilities that cause damage then, engaged units are fair game.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
Sandtiger
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:38 am
Name: Tomas Q.
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Space Wolves, Salamanders

Re: Psychic powers question that I can't find a definitive answer to

Postby Sandtiger » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:14 pm

Awesome thank you
User avatar
Indy
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:57 pm
Name: JP Anderson
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Blood Angels
Location: Melrose

Re: Psychic powers question that I can't find a definitive answer to

Postby Indy » Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:27 pm

In fact--and others back me up on this--the Librarian would only be able to target the nurglings w/ Smite if they are the closest unit, correct?
“Fairy tales do not give the child his first idea of bogey. What fairy tales give the child is his first clear idea of the possible defeat of bogey. The baby has known the dragon intimately ever since he had an imagination. What the fairy tale provides for him is a St. George to kill the dragon.”

-G.K. Chesteron
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: Psychic powers question that I can't find a definitive answer to

Postby MrScotty » Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:45 pm

Indy wrote:
Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:27 pm
In fact--and others back me up on this--the Librarian would only be able to target the nurglings w/ Smite if they are the closest unit, correct?
Yep. All restrictions of psychic powers working are listed on the power. There are no additional restrictions on all psychic powers.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
Sandtiger
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:38 am
Name: Tomas Q.
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Space Wolves, Salamanders

Re: Psychic powers question that I can't find a definitive answer to

Postby Sandtiger » Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:20 am

Yeah I was trying to postulate that the Nurglings would be the closest unit which is why the Librarian would move closer to them, to make sure that that's the case ;) But the really important part of it was whether I could cast it into an already fighting group which was the hangup I was trying to get straight